top of page
Search

Monstrous Strange II: Lydia Broadnax, Michael Brown & George Wythe


Show Notes for Episode 30-

Monstrous Strange II: Lydia Broadnax, Michael Brown & George Wythe


This is Part II of Monstrous Strange. For Part I, please listen to episode 29.

1806 Virginia sees a murder forgotten, a murder ignored, and a murderer set free.


This is also the episode where you learn about Thomas Jefferson's secret murdered love child. Maybe.




Sources:


Bailey, John. Jefferson’s Second Father: (Pan, 2013).


Berexa, Daniel. “The Murder of Founding Father George Wythe.” Tennessee Bar Association. https://www.tba.org/?pg=LawBlog&blAction=showEntry&blogEntry=9542 . 2010.


Boyd, Julian. "The Murder of George Wythe," in The Murder of George Wythe: Two Essays (The Institute of Early American History & Culture, 1955)


Callender, James. “The President, Again” by James Thomson Callender (September 1, 1802). (2020, December 07). In Encyclopedia Virginia. https://encyclopediavirginia.org/entries/the-president-again-by-james-thomson-callender-september-1-1802.


Chadwick, Bruce. I Am Murdered: George Wythe, Thomas Jefferson, and the Killing That Shocked a New Nation. (Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2009).


Crawford, Alan Pell. “A House Called Bizarre.” The Washington Post.https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/lifestyle/travel/2000/11/26/a-house-called-bizarre/4ea73982-5c3c-4599-9086-ea209464a666/ 26 November 2000.



"Our Lives, Our Stories: Legacy of the Randolph Site - Virtual Tour." Colonial Williamsburg. https://virtualtours.colonialwilliamsburg.org/randolph/ and https://www.colonialwilliamsburg.org/learn/behind-the-scenes/newest-virtual-tour-randolph-site/


Hemphill, Edwin. "Examinations of George Wythe Swinney for Forgery and Murder: A Documentary Essay," The William and Mary Quarterly, Third Series 12, no. 4 (October 1955): 551–562.


Longsworth, Polly. "Jefferson's "alleged child." Colonial Williamsburg Journal. Vol. 21, No. 02 (April/May 1999).


“Lydia Broadnax.” Slavery and Remembrance: Colonial Williamsburg. https://slaveryandremembrance.org/people/person/?id=PP040


"Monticello Affirms Thomas Jefferson Fathered Children with Sally Hemings

A Statement by the Thomas Jefferson Foundation." Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. https://www.monticello.org/thomas-jefferson/jefferson-slavery/thomas-jefferson-and-sally-hemings-a-brief-account/monticello-affirms-thomas-jefferson-fathered-children-with-sally-hemings/


Mumford, George Wythe. The Two Parsons (Richmond: J.D.K. Sleight, 1884).


"Sally Hemings." Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. https://www.monticello.org/sallyhemings/


"Slavery FAQs." Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. https://www.monticello.org/slavery/slavery-faqs/


“Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemings: A Brief Account.” and “Sally Hemings.” Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. https://www.monticello.org/thomas-jefferson/jefferson-slavery/thomas-jefferson-and-sally-hemings-a-brief-account/ and https://www.monticello.org/sallyhemings/


“Q&A with Bruce Chadwick.” C-SPAN Transcript Viewer. https://www.c-span.org/video/transcript/?id=8188. July 6, 2009.


Wolfe, Brendan. “Wythe, The Death of George (1806).” Encyclopedia Virginia.https://encyclopediavirginia.org/entries/wythe-the-death-of-george-1806/


“Wythepedia: The George Wythe Encyclopedia.” The Wolf Law Library. https://lawlibrary.wm.edu/wythepedia/index.php/Main_Page




Music: Dellasera by Shane Ivers - https://www.silvermansound.com


For more information, visit www.oldbloodpodcast.com






Komentar


bottom of page